News:

www.W116.org - All about the Car!

Main Menu

Sourcing or repairing a hood release cable?

Started by HoundFables, 30 November 2023, 08:34 PM

HoundFables

Hey guys!

I'm new to the classic Mercedes/W116 community, although I've been wanting a classic diesel 'Benz for well over a decade now. I figured I was finally ready for a "project" car, and ended up buying a 1980 300SD that is in not-so-great condition as sort of a mechanical and stylistic challenge.

My first priority is getting the thing running okay, along with getting all of the various bits functioning in as much a non-annoying way as reasonably possible. The hood release cable was broken when I got it--the handle is broken off, along with the brass cable pull piece that should be attached to the hood release cable. The handle seems like not a big deal to source, but the cable seems like another story.

I've been trying to source this part, but it seems difficult to find online. Has anyone removed the steel cable from the plastic sheeth and replaced it, for instance? Or welded the cable back together?

I suppose my my other avenue would be a local junk yard--if they even have such a specific vehicle in stock.

I did find the part here, but it's a little pricey, assuming the order even goes through:
https://www.pelicanparts.com/More_Info/1168800259.htm?pn=116-880-02-59-MBZ

I also found it here, but I am reluctant to consider this business for various reasons:
https://venessauto.com/en/mercedes-benz-s-serisi-w116-kaporta-aksami-diger/139-w116-hood-release-cable-engine-bonnet-opening-1972-1980.html?srsltid=AfmBOooVX-LPDmaWrQaPQrG0El3KYHA_KmZpbtsmdSF4sS-p_iBM7LDY5Xo

Anyways. I've got my work cut out for me with this car. I'm sure I'll be around! Hah.

raueda1