News:

The ORG - No back-slapping boys club!

Main Menu

1972/3 450SEL sputtering on acceleration

Started by smoothbnzf4n4tc, 28 May 2008, 11:25 AM

smoothbnzf4n4tc

Okay guys, I have a green 450SEL and it's my baby. A month ago, the car started giving me a lot of problems specifically under acceleration. The car seemed to sputter around 2000-3000rpm and at gear changes. I took it to the dealer and they suggested that the throttle switch is the problem. They replaced the throttle switch and for a while it seemed to get better. however, the problem returned a week later and now the car is almost undriveable, with almost no power and sputtering sounds coming from the engine that weren't there before. Also the power if very irregular. I'll press depress the accelerator and the car doesn't respond at all. I'm not a mechanic so I don't want to interfere with what the dealer says, but they still don't know what the hell is wrong with the car. I'm getting quite angry that my baby hasn't been fixed yet. Do you have any suggestions as to what could be causing the problems?

Big_Richard

being D jet, the first thing i would check is the manifold pressure sensor. These are the kinds of symptoms the engine has when its diaphragm fails. These items are ludicrously expensive, so try out a good second hand one first before buying one. Someone will supply you with a picture if you ask nicely ;)

oscar

Hi. I find it hard to believe that the TPS (throttle postion sensor) could cause the car to become undriveable but its amazing that you say the problem went away when it was replaced initially.  There may be more than one problem occuring here. So two things to do.

1)  You can disconnect the TPS by pulling its lead and if its faulty, the car will run very smooth in comparison.  Even though you got a "new" one, it still might be defective.  The TPS is like an accelerator pump and whilst you'll loose some take off power it should accelerate smoothly.