News:

The ORG - No back-slapping boys club!

Main Menu

W116's are becoming more socially acceptable

Started by Big_Richard, 12 November 2011, 05:14 AM

Big_Richard

I remember thinking that w116's were ugly and dated looking when the w126 was current, that's what I'm going off. Naturally other peoples memories will be different ;)

I was privileged enough to have a family friend own an astral silver on blue leather 6.9 when i was  a child so i remember it well. It was after they were current though and always wished it looked more like a w126...

It would be cool to find that car though, there's no record of vin so it would be virtually impossible.

WGB

My car never leaves home without a compliment from some total stranger - especially when they realise the age of the car.

On a personal level - I was a penniless student living over the back fence from the local Mercedes Agent when the 116 first arrived and I remember standing in absolute awe as they drove in and out.

I was a penniless young country doctor (well not as penniless as in 1972) in 1978 watching the farmers driving around in their 280 and 450's.

I remember being totally gobsmacked when I first rode in the then brand new 126 380 and later that year in a 500 but for some reason in my old cars I have stuck with the 116.

The 116 is now becoming old enough that the good ones are interesting again just like the 108 went from old to interesting and the 126's seem to be fading faster than the 116 did.

A W116 is probably easier to maintain than either a 108 or a 126 - even the 6.9 once you get it sorted.

Bill

Mforcer

I don't remember there ever being a time when W116's were socially unacceptable ::)

My car has always had plenty of positive comments and feedback. But I also see W116 everywhere around where I live. Barely a drive would go by without me seeing one so others must appreciate them to some degree too :)
Michael
1977 450SE [Brilliant Red]
2006 B200

Big_Richard