News:

The Org - Serving W116 Enthusiasts since 2004!

Main Menu

"restoring" a1975 450sel

Started by Bootlebod, 04 November 2011, 05:04 PM

Bootlebod

New member living in the wine country of Washington state. Drove my '75 450 sel up and down the west coast in the nineties, kids in the back, sunroof wide open, heater blowing blistering hot ALL the time, 24 hour non stop trips to Lake Tahoe, brilliant! Then I decided to spruce it up a bit.Took it apart for paint and interior and she has sat like that since 2003.The usual pitfalls of life, as well as a house fire, two kids through college, dumb investments put her way down the to do list. Now, finally have a few spare bucks, kids grown, and the urge to do Highway one, so my question is, am I nuts? I have 40 years in the restoration biz (I am a coach trimmer by trade, and have been involved in at least one pebble beach concours project a year since 1984) I have an excellent network of friends in the trade, enough skills and knowledge to do a nice ground up resto, a comfortable workspace and the time. So, worse case scenario, what do your members consider reasons not to go ahead? I have number of other projects, but I know the missus would LOVE to see the old girl back to her glory days. I have no thoughts of "resale" value as it is more an emotional endeavour than anything else, but I am a little scared of getting buried. hope this makes some sense, look forward to your thoughts. 

Big_Richard

you have the good ladies approval, i dont think you need any more convincing than that that its a good idea to proceed  ;D

With your skills and available talent on tap I'd be doing it without even thinking twice...

jbrasile

Bootlebod,

Welcome to the Forum!

You have been in the business long enough to know that most of the time restorations don't make financial sense, they fill someone's need to see a car re-born for whatever reason and the challenge to accomplish that is sometimes enough  to undertake a project.