News:

www.W116.org - All about the Car!

Main Menu

My 450Se 1977 project

Started by Thegger, 27 September 2018, 04:18 AM

Thegger

Hello.
My name is Tommy, from Norway and bought a 450SE with m117.986 as my first car project ever.
I have no mechanic background, so this is just for fun and because i like it. Feedback would be appreciated. :)

The car is a Japan version. Is it sold new there then? Before I got it, it was imported from Dubai. The person i bought it from had it garaged for 8 years because of misfiring on two cylinders.
Since it came from Dubai when he bought it, it not much corrosion and pretty good looking in the paint.

Long story short, misfiring came from bad maintenence on the engine. Cylinderhead were covered in buttery oil, lifters plugged and the camshafts were torn, flat lobes and rocker arms also very worn. Pulled of the cylinder heads after and found one bent exhaust valve and most of the valveseats were covered in sticky shit. Thats why the car was showing high HC on exhaust gas last emission test.

Ive started putting the engine together again. New exhaust valve, cleaned up the cylinder head and grinded up all valves/seats.
New lifters, rocker arms. Now im waiting for new machined camshafts from Catcams with a little more sport profile.

daantjie

Welcome Tommy!
Nice Euro! Green one of my all time best colours on the 116.
You will find lots of help here. Most of us do most of the work on our cars ourselves as skilled older mechanics are very hard to find.
Good luck and keep asking I am sure you will find the community here the best 116 resource on the planet!
Cheers
Daniel
1977 450 SEL 6.9 - Astralsilber

Thegger

Does anyone have a good picture of the m117 engine from above? I lost my phone and all the pictures ive taken, so my memory struggle a little bit with where the parts was located  ;D
Without the airfilter.

ptashek

Welcome Tommy, and good luck with your project.