News:

The ORG - Truly Independent and Unbiased!

Main Menu

I want to drive my 116...

Started by 1980sdga, 16 May 2011, 12:41 AM

1980sdga

I'm a travel nurse so I make a lot of my $$ driving. Lately it's been about 800 to 1000 miles a week.  Good thing I enjoy driving  ;D

Anyway, I got my 2nd 300SD for a road car but I've been driving the Caddy while I sort out the MB.  I went out of my way to get a low mileage car so I wouldn't have to do a ton of work on it and here I am waiting on parts and doing a ton of work on it  :-\ Not hard work, but frustrating trouble shooting work.

I keep having to remind myself that the engine/drive train is solid but I'm getting discouraged sorting vacuum and electrical problems.  I was hoping I wouldn't have to dive in this deep, this early *sigh*

I'm hoping these cars aren't "weekenders" because my plan was to DRIVE IT and DRIVE IT HARD...

So, was I foolish to think that I could get a 30 year old car and expect it to be reliable?  Will it ever be as reliable as a modern econo-box?

Big_Richard

will it be as reliable as a modern car ?

No.

most modern cars made nowadays go through there entire 5 year warranty periods with little to no trouble or expense other than regular servicing.

a 30 year old car will always have occasional issues, its a fact of life which cant be avoided.

calvin streeting

Quote from: Major Tom 6.9 on 16 May 2011, 04:06 AM

most modern cars made nowadays go through there entire 5 year warranty periods with little to no trouble
then 5 years and 1 day they fall apart completely.. hahah..

one way to make it slightly econimical is to by a good one, and keep upto date with service's and fix problems asap, and never by another car.. did this for 10years on a w123, but saving for a wedding killed that one.

BWalker82