News:

The ORG - Truly Independent and Unbiased!

Main Menu

Hello all!!!

Started by BJ, 22 May 2007, 03:26 PM

BJ

Hi!

I'm a 23yr old student from Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa.

I recently bought a 1977 350SE to fix up and sell on again. I can't afford classic Benz ownership just yet!  ;)

Joined up by invitation from Greg de Klerk. Thanks Greg, this seems to be a valuable source of information on the W116.

Some people on another forum I belong to dubbed her The Panzer:

Some problems I still have is:

* Oil leak from either power steering or sump

* Indicator stalk doesn't hold it's position when pushed up or down

* Indicators doesn't flicker, they just stay on.

* Cruise control and central locking isn't working, obviously vacuum related.

* Some intense polishing and paint care and she's ready for a new home.

So any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Brian Crump

Welcome to the site BJ.
Fix up and sell? Bad boy!!!! Fix up and keep!!Good boy!!!!
Looks like you have a nice car there so enjoy it.
Regards,
BC

koan

Quote from: BJ on 22 May 2007, 03:26 PM

I recently bought a 1977 350SE to fix up and sell on again. I can't afford classic Benz ownership just yet!  ;)

It looks like a nice vehicle, I'd be reluctant to part with it.

* Indicators doesn't flicker, they just stay on.

If you have a hazard warning button operate it a few times, they might come to life,  otherwise it might need a new flasher relay. Another thing to check for is lamps/bulbs of the wrong type.

koan
Boogity, Boogity, Boogity, Amen!

BJ

I am enjoying her a LOT!

I am absolutely flabbergasted about how easy it is to drive and park in the city. The driving position is excellent and visibility all round makes navigation through traffic and parking garages a cinch.

Only thing is, the fuel consumption is killing me!!! I think that I must be getting 20l/100km or less.