News:

The ORG - Truly Independent and Unbiased!

Main Menu

Got a new project, pictorial

Started by oscar, 23 May 2008, 08:25 AM

Big_Richard

I am an ultra amateurish spray painter - with cars of the past, Ive found it very difficult to get a decent looking finish on older panels that have been painted before. I am way too lazy to prepair them properly. :P

But, since my cars usually went spinning off the side of the road at high speed in the rainy weather, i always required new panels etc. I found it MUCH easier to paint brand new parts than old ones. Even the plastic bumpers are a piece of cake to paint when brand new and look fantastic.

oscar

This is where I find my dilemma Pat.  I'm verging on the too lazy to care plus it's only a track car excuse that I'm nearly accepting that unless I strip both panels again, I'll never get a perfect finish.  Well actually, I don't mind too much with these.  I just wasn't expecting to find that they had already been filled with loads of filler to cover imperfections.  Beforehand they looked good apart from cracked top coat.  I thought they would be perfectly straight for a back to bare metal simple respray.  Not so.  I don't want to go buying another tub of filler for the vanity thing if this car has a high risk of needing those panels again after it's first track event ::)

Anyway,  dust was the issue again.  Chassis/rad support, no worries.  Pretty smooth and gloosy on the inner guard and top rad support but the panels attracted dust and man I was p'd off.  I cleaned, washed down but there must have been something in the air.  As soon as I started on the bonnet, there was hairy dust crap everywhere so I just put a light coat on so I can sand it back a little and try again in a few days.  I can live with the odd slight dent or depression, I really just want to get a decent smooth gloss without dust.  So the panels will now sit aside whilst I start checking out the mechanicals, replace radiator etc at nights after work.