News:

The W116 Library - The definitive W116 resource!

Main Menu

Cops & 116s

Started by sblakely, 10 January 2011, 12:18 PM

TJ 450

Yep, I've been through a few of those lately. The last one involved a jocular conversation with regards to the 6.9... The constable thought it was quite a classic car.

Tim
1976 450SEL 6.9 1432
1969 300SEL 6.3 1394
2003 ML500

thysonsacclaim

QuoteEdit: Atrocious use of the English language.

Haha,. not so bad. English is atrocious anyway!

M110COUPE

Here in new Zealand, ive been driving my w116 for about two years now with bogus plates i pulled off a wreck, no registration or WOF.....and never been pulled over...very lucky...

Thats cheap motoring! 

I reckon my luck will run out soon so car is off the road while i fix exhaust leak, electric window etc and then get legal.

oscar

Quote from: Major Tom 6.9 on 01 April 2011, 06:11 AM
here it doesn't matter who you are, you can and will be breath tested.

Not so much over this side.  I mean, I've gone through heaps without "lights" on going about other duties and have always been waved on.  It's not just me.  IMO there's tolerance for certain vehicles like some trucks, buses and taxis and other working vehicles that aren't the usual suspects when it comes to catching a DUI driver.  But I agree anyone could fall foul of the law, speed wise or by driving recklessly, let alone a crash, and once that occurs, along comes a mandatory breath test for sure no matter who or what you are.  But IMO an ambulance would make an ideal vehicle to smuggle drugs, people, weapons, even fruit  ::)  Yeah that's right, fruit.  I've never been pulled over for a vehicle search at one of the Fruit Fly Exclusion Zones check points out my way.  Mwahahaha!
1973 350SE, my first & fave

WGB

Quote from: Major Tom 6.9 on 01 April 2011, 06:11 AM
here it doesn't matter who you are, you can and will be breath tested.