News:

The ORG - No back-slapping boys club!

Main Menu

Wiring Hirschmann universal antenna to 79 450SEL

Started by Sonch, 07 June 2020, 03:19 PM

Sonch

I need to know how to wire a Hirschmann universal antenna with 3 wires to the existing wiring harness/terminal with 5 wires. Help!

daantjie

How about an intro and at least a "hello" before you hit up the forum for assistance?
Daniel
1977 450 SEL 6.9 - Astralsilber

Sonch

Uh....sorry? Didn't know about proper protocol or etiquette. I'm a complete noob and new owner of '79 450SEL with 64k miles. I have next to zero auto mechanicAl experience but have enough of a mechanical mind to try to fix things. Just fixed the passenger front window regulator. What else can I share?

ptashek

VERIFY ALL OF THE BELOW WITH A MULTIMETER BEFORE INSTALLING

This is what's likely going on here:

Brown is your chassis ground, and goes to black. Yellow is permanent +12V, and goes to red.
Blue is switched +12V, and hot only when the radio is on. It should be branched off of the radio wiring harness.

So the operation would typically be like this:
- if blue has +12V - antenna goes up
- if blue has 0V - antenna goes down

No idea what the black wire is doing in the harness, mine's stock and was always just brown-red-blue.
1993 "Pearl Blue" W124 280TE
1988 "Arctic White" W124 200T
1979 "Icon Gold" W116 450SE

raueda1

Quote from: ptashek on 08 June 2020, 05:14 AM
VERIFY ALL OF THE BELOW WITH A MULTIMETER BEFORE INSTALLING

This is what's likely going on here:

Brown is your chassis ground, and goes to black. Yellow is permanent +12V, and goes to red.
Blue is switched +12V, and hot only when the radio is on. It should be branched off of the radio wiring harness.

So the operation would typically be like this:
- if blue has +12V - antenna goes up
- if blue has 0V - antenna goes down

No idea what the black wire is doing in the harness, mine's stock and was always just brown-red-blue.