News:

www.W116.org - The #1 resource for our W116! Established 2004

Main Menu

What do y'all know about synthetic brake fluid? Is it safe for our older cars?

Started by michaeld, 29 April 2006, 03:36 AM

michaeld

I'm just about to shut her down and go to bed, but...

In the morning I plan to install a new master cynlinder (although I'm a little confused about the process of bench bleeding my M.C. w/ the vacuum method), and of course need to replace my brake fluid.

I got my fluid at Autozone.  Everything was cheap junk that I didn't want in my baby except Valvoline SynPower synthetic (DOT 4, of course).  It exceeded all of the specs (SAE J 1703B and FMVSS #116) that the MBz Technical Manual indicated.  I've never used synthetic brake fluid before - and always worry about the word "synthetic" with an older car.  Has anyone had any horror stories with this stuff, such as new leaks they're sure they wouldn't have had if they'd just used "regular" stuff?

And also, isn't ordinary brake fluid synthetic?  I'm pretty sure it's not hydrocarbon-based.  Are we fighting over polyethylene glycol wells somewhere in the Middle East, and I just don't know about it?  Is synthetic brake fluid just a marketing gimmic, or is it somehow more "synthetic" than ordinary brake fluid? 

Denis

Hi Michaeld

I did put synthetic fluid in my W109 three years ago and the seals went bad BUT they were going in any case. I just hastened their demise. New seals in the calipers, complete flush and synthetic brake fluid all sung a nice tune from there on. The master cylinder was a recent one also.

Simply put : you might get leaks but if you are going to R&R, definitely do it as the synthetic fluid is NOT hygroscopic (absorbs water) and the system remains corosionless  ;D

I wonder if the material in recent seals is not designed for synthetic ?

Denis

Paris, France

michaeld

Gosh, Denis,