News:

The ORG - No shonky business!

Main Menu

Water in the drivers footwell...

Started by 1980sdga, 25 May 2011, 08:14 PM

TestJet

Hi guys im pretty new to this sight but have been driving my 6.9 for over 15 years. i had the same problem with water in my floor boards from stopped up drain lines. i cleaned them out but found out that didnt stop my problem. It seems the water froze at some point and cracked the A/C compartment plastic housing. I tried every way possible to seal the darn thing but it always started leaking again. last year i took the A/C compartment apart found the cracks and sealed it with JB Weld. Happy to report no more problems. Jon i sure hope you dont have that big of a problem.   

ColMustard

Its funny, im dealing with this now too. It took me about 15 minutes or so to pull both of em out. Of course I had already removed all the interior already looking for the source of the leak  ;D. I can tell you though that I literally mutilated that layer of foam with the rubber on top of it. It was more than rotted. That bolt that holds down the accelerator was rusted pretty bad, but fortunately just minor surface rust in other places. Drying out the mats now, gonna goto the glass place tomorrow to make sure they fix it properly. After im sure the source of the leak is gone (tomorrow) gonna start putting it back together

1980sdga

Yea, I'm gonna be doing the foam rubber boogie next week  ;D

I left the front windows down about 1/4"  (Probably 5 mm to you bonnet guys ;D) with the car out of the garage when I left home. I don't think it's rained there but the gutters should keep any more water from coming in. And maybe the heat dried out some of the water in the mats.  The car was starting to smell musty and the windows were fogging so I'll bet I have a lot of water.

Does the water stay in the front footwells or can it get under the seats?