News:

The ORG - No back-slapping boys club!

Main Menu

W116 fog light install

Started by Kenbenz, 15 June 2020, 06:28 PM

Kenbenz

My 76 280s didn't come with factory fog lights in the front. The bumper is pre drilled and the light know pulls out and locks to engage them. I got a couple off ebay to install but can't seem to find the wires for post factory installation... where can I find these wires to connect to?
Ken Knight

daantjie

Good form would be a brief intro or at least a "hi fellas" before one starts to ask for help.  We are a nice and helpful bunch of guys (and gals(?)) and will go out of our way to help a fellow 116'er, just a bit of decorum ;)
Daniel
1977 450 SEL 6.9 - Astralsilber

Kenbenz

Good advice!sorry, I was on benzworld for a while, not a lot of w116 folks there! I've been restoring my w116 280s now for about 3 years! It hasn't been easy being I'm not a mechanic by trade, I'm more of a hobby mechanic, but I've come to love the older Benz, especially the w116 models! I go by Ken! Hoping to finally get a few answers on here to help get the old Benz rolling like a champ! Thanks
Ken Knight

daantjie

Hopefully one of our more electrically inclined members will chime in.  On my car at least I checked the fuse box and fuse #9 is for fog lights so that might be a good start.
You might have to wire in a complete new harness from the switch.  To my knowledge the switch is generic across all models thus you might have your work cut out for you if you want to use the main light switch to switch the fogs on and off , or I guess you could use an aftermarket setup with a separately wired switch?
Daniel
1977 450 SEL 6.9 - Astralsilber

raueda1

This is a generic question, but would apply to OP's situation (and many others). 
Does anybody know if the wiring harness for a given model is the same regardless of installed options?