News:

The W116 Library - The definitive W116 resource!

Main Menu

Transmission not going into drive or reverse on 450SE

Started by silverlakemarket, 18 June 2018, 10:43 PM

silverlakemarket

Hi All,

Newbie here. I looked all through the forums and youtube to see if anyone else had the same issue but have not been able to find it.

Basically the transmission is not engaging, I checked the fluid and there seems to be enough oil in there. When I turn the car on the idle is abnormally high and if I keep the car on long enough it begins to blow thick white smoke that smells burnt.

Has anyone else ever had this happen to them or know why I might have this problem?

Squiggle Dog

Hmmm... I wonder if the shift modulator diaphragm has ruptured, and so the engine is sucking in and burning transmission fluid through the hole in the diaphragm.
Stop paying for animal cruelty and slaughter. Go vegan! [url="https://challenge22.com/"]https://challenge22.com/[/url]

1967 W110 Universal Wagon, Euro, Turbo Diesel, Tail Fins, 4 Speed Manual Column Shift, A/C
1980 W116 300SD Turbo Diesel, DB479 Walnut Brown, Sunroof, Heated Seats, 350,000+

silverlakemarket

Hi Sqiggle dog thanks for the quick reply.

If that was the case, does that mean my transmission is done?

TJ 450

Not necessarily, you would need to continue troubleshooting.

I would pull the plastic cap off the modulator vacuum element and check for fluid loss.

Following that it could be low system pressure or blocked lines.

Are you checking the level at trans operating temp?

Tim
1976 450SEL 6.9 1432
1969 300SEL 6.3 1394
2003 ML500

Squiggle Dog