News:

The ORG - No back-slapping boys club!

Main Menu

Shes gettin hot

Started by ColMustard, 28 May 2011, 06:38 PM

ColMustard

Thank you all :D. Wouldnt you know it? Nobody cleans radiators any longer, well I found one Performance Radiator. basically, it would cost more to have them boil it out than to just buy a new one. They quoted me 208 dollars for a new rad. Not a bad deal. The weathers turned cold again here in seattle, go figure. So the car is running within acceptible limits again. Great. My work is a 15 minute drive, so ive got a little time to save money to get a new radiator. Ive already done a flush, I think. Im gonna go ahead and do another one next weekend. Whete might one pick up this citric acid? Will swap to mb coolant as well. Running the green stuff.

1980sdga

I'd go for the new radiator.  I'm a little scared of the citric flush. Just me, I have no experience to back it up...

Squiggle Dog

I went to Performance Radiator once for a pressure test. Of course, they told me the radiator was leaking and needed to be recored. They quoted me a minimum of $500 to recore it. I asked them about a replacement radiator and they said they had three in stock. So they showed them to me and they were not even close! The salesman said that it had to be the right one because the book says they fit 1977-1985 300-series diesels. I said, "No." They were all for a W123 chassis, not a W116. Then they told me that they don't have anything available for my car. So be careful! They are probably trying to sell you one for a W123 chassis! By the way, I installed the old radiator anyway and it didn't leak a drop!

This past weekend I did a fluid flush and fill on my 1980 300SD. I ordered a couple of new sealing rings and a thermostat.