Main Menu

Reverse engineering the Bosch K-Jet ignition module

Started by ptashek, 10 January 2013, 02:56 PM

ptashek

1993 "Pearl Blue" W124 280TE
1988 "Arctic White" W124 200T
1979 "Icon Gold" W116 450SE

jimmyricket

Can I just say how utterly epic this is. I'd love to help, learn where possible as I think this is a skill that classic car owners will soon be learning how to do in years to come.

ptashek

Quote from: jimmyricket on 06 July 2015, 03:59 PM
Can I just say how utterly epic this is. I'd love to help, learn where possible as I think this is a skill that classic car owners will soon be learning how to do in years to come.

It will most certainly be a string of epic failures before I get something that works :)

markb

I'm a bit of a newbie here, but I've owned a '79 450SEL daily-driver for 20 years or so... lucky me, my mechanic is one of my best friends. Unlucky me, he recently retired. I've always dealt with the light-weight and cosmetic stuff anyway, but now I'm having to roll up my sleeves (I did rebuild a climate control servo from spares about 15 years ago, and it still works!). I've had a nagging problem with my ignition, but I'll save that for a another post (and as we all know.. rust never sleeps!...)

Anyway, I've had a consulting business doing PCB layouts for electronics companies 30 years now (www[dot]Lumagraph[dot]net), but semi-retired lately (giving me more time to work on my 450.. and my old house!). At the cost of these units.. and what you've accomplished so far.. are you considering creating a replacement PCB? If so, if you need any help with the schematic and/or layout, I'd be glad to do it (although you probably have it under control.. and why would you want to hand off the fun part?! ;-) ). Would there be any copyright issues? Just asking!