News:

The ORG - No back-slapping boys club!

Main Menu

New to the w116 and M117.. need a little help gauging value

Started by mabbonizio, 14 May 2017, 08:23 PM

mabbonizio

Hi Folks,

I'm new to the w116 but not Mercedes.  i currently have a 1954 300 Cabriolet and a 1982 240D and pretty much do all of the work on my cars myself.

I looked at a 78 450 SEL with cloth interior today. Pretty nice car with excellent paint and chrome and about zero rust. Only catch is that it does not start.

The current owner bought it from an estate and I believe it sat for a while inside. Car has about 108,000 miles on it and really does appear to be very mint with the exception of a few tears in the cloth driver seat.

Seller has the car listed for 2K and says he replaced the fuel pump as well as some ignition parts to try and coax it to start.

I'm having trouble gauging if this car is actually worth 2k and could use the opinions of some more knowledgable folks. Engine oil looked okay in color but smelled a bit like fuel. There was no coolant in the expansion tank but I couldn't tell if there was any in the rad. Trans fluid looked great. Overall the car appears to have been well cared for but I am a little weary of taking on a massively expensive diy project. 

Heres a pic of the car:

rumb

I spent about $1500 getting my fuel system in shape, including rebuilding/replacing the fuel distributor and WUR,AAV, pumps, hoses, filter, and injector seals.

$2K is a decent price for what you have shown, however you could easily spent another $4K fixing everything on it.  40 year old cars, the rubber perishes.

Offer them $1500 and explain what it costs to repair a neglected fuel system.Non running cars are worth way less than running because all the unknowns.
'68 250S
'77 6.9 Euro
'91 300SE,
'98 SL500
'14 CLS550,
'16 AMG GTS
'21 E450 Cabrio

UTn_boy