News:

www.W116.org - The #1 resource for our W116! Established 2004

Main Menu

M110 cylinder head removal tips

Started by Denis, 22 June 2006, 03:23 PM

Denis

Hello gentlemen and assorted creatures !

OK, Denis adopted the old W126. Now, no more W126 talk just M110 engine talk  ;D

I have no experience on this engine but it looks like the proverbial "gas factory" (usine à gaz) , a french expression for something exceedingly complicated - like the french republic itself ::)

Now the M110 looks like a "gas factory" to me ! all this Cosworth-like DOHC for a miserable 185 hp DIN...

I read the manual and it looks like using 32 tools, having 3 assistants and a crane for an alloy head  ::)

What is the easy way to remove the cylinder head ? For instance can I cut the timing chain and remove the cylinder head, fit it back and add a timing chain link ? or is this no so gaseous  :P

Any experience appreciated.

Why do this ? The engine runs but the head gasket is leaking and oil appears in the coolant  :(

Denis

Paris, France

s class

Denis,

I don't have a procedure for M110 cyl head removal, but some comments.  The original chain is continuous.  Service chains have a removable link.  So if this car has had its chain replaced at some stage, you may find that rmovable link and disconnect it.  As I understand it, if the chain is still the original one, you will not be able to remove and reuse it.  In any case, if it is still the original chain, the wear will probably justify a new chain anyway to get the cam timing right.

styria - I'm just thinking about it now - would it be possible to remove the chain tensioner to get enough chain slack to remove the camshafts via the front of the cam box, without cutting the chain?