News:

The ORG - No back-slapping boys club!

Main Menu

LPG bonus.

Started by robgee, 14 August 2006, 09:24 AM

robgee

Hi Gents I'm sorry that this topic really only matters to Australian members but I suppose by now we are all aware of the Governments bonus relating to converting to lpg.
I think that with a $2000.00 rebate it seems quite cost effective to convert I'd like to know your experiences with lpg and costs of installing on 450SE any input would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,

Rob.

oscar

Hi robgee,

Can't comment on price or in AMG69's thread about M100's, but i see a few lpg 450's alone come up for sale on carpoint and carsales.  If you do consider converting, there was an Australian designed injector that was revealed on "The New Inventors" late last year or early this year that I'd be chasing.

I'm no expert but from memory, most if not all LPG systems release LPG into the plenum chamber which under certain conditions can cause less than ideal fuel/air mixtures and sometimes backfire thru the plenum chamber.  Also for fuel injected engines, the ecu and petrol injectors get bypassed.  There's scaremongering about bending conrods, overheating and all sorts of stories but I haven't met someone that was unhappy with their system.  The only problem I know of was i1997 Ford Falcon wagon where a trailer was being towed over a few hundred km which caused a major increase in fuel consumption, a quick drop in volume from the LPG tank and subsequent freezing of supply line which stopped the delivery of LPG to the engine.