News:

Please add your location to your profile. It will help others to help you!

Main Menu

HELP!!! MISFIRE/STALL

Started by AceWolff, 26 January 2021, 03:30 PM

s class

I suspect you may have throttle position switch calibration issues, that the idle contact switch is not working correctly
  PM me your email address and I'll send you the procedure to set it up.

Have you played with the idle air/fuel ratio setting potentiometer on the side of the engine ECU in the foot well?

[color=blue]'76 6.9 Euro[/color], [color=red]'78 6.9 AMG[/color], '80 280SE, [color=brown]'74 350SE[/color], [color=black]'82 500SEL euro full hydro, '83 500SEL euro full hydro [/color], '81 500SL

AceWolff

I didn't know I had to gap the points. I've never had to deal with them before.

How do you change points properly, because I just put them in with no extra steps.

No I have not, I'm fairly new to this car. And before this I've pretty much only run diesels

You can reach me at

Guywithphone@gmail.com
~Ace

AceWolff

Does this car have the OVP?

I have a hard time finding info on the SE in particular.

But I am also having some other electrical issues and I've read that this can cause both problems I'm having.
~Ace

celberg

First thing first. Your car went well for a 6 hours drive and suddenly not at all?

No ovp in d-jet.

Do you have the rotor with rpm-limiter? Even if it's new it can malfunction. I had to put another rotor in a year ago. This time i took the one without rpm-limiter.

You might have dirty triggerpoints for the injection valves. Lift the ignition distributor, take the triggerpoints out and clean them. Make sure you put the distributor back with the rotor at the same place.

If you haven't played with the throttle position switch, don't do it.

The idle air/fuel ratio setting potentiometer on the side of the engine ECU does not affect the fuel/air ration when you drive, it only affects on idle. Therefore You can leave that.

350SL 1973
350SE 1975
SL500 1996

Alec300SD