News:

Please add your location to your profile. It will help others to help you!

Main Menu

Compression test on European M116.985 in 1977 350SE

Started by Berggreen, 09 August 2020, 04:41 AM

Berggreen

Quote from: Lance on 10 August 2020, 09:16 PM
Plugs show that the engine is running way too lean, that is why it is overheating. Fix that first. Those compression figures are very good for a cold engine.

Great, I am happy to hear the compression readings are at least ok.. And do you agree to my procedure with 5 strokes of the needle? I was worried that I maybe had generated false high readings with 5 strokes, because if I did more, I did not see that the pressure level was increasing more.

Agree...the spark plugs, apart from the oily one, are very white. However, initially I was associating this to the fact that I have done less than 500 km with these plugs. Maybe they need some more km, before I can determine if the mixture is too lean. What do you think?

Sorry, I am a newbie with these M116 engines and K-jetronic injection systems. How do I regulate the full range mixture? Doing so, I guess I have to adjust the idle mixture afterwards to compensate. Or?

I have two 280SL w113s as well, and on these cars I know all the tricks to adjust the mixture on the old BOSCH injection pumps. But I am still a novice on the K-jettronics, but eager to learn! ;)

Thanks for your input and help - much appreciate it. :D

Christian
02/1971 MB 280SL (aut.) - olive green 291H
11/1970 MB 280SL (man.) - silver 180G
12/1977 MB 350SE (aut.) - deep green 825H
03/1969 Volvo 1800S (man.) - dark green 94

ptashek

Quote from: Berggreen on 11 August 2020, 06:14 AM
Agree...the spark plugs, apart from the oily one, are very white. However, initially I was associating this to the fact that I have done less than 500 km with these plugs. Maybe they need some more km, before I can determine if the mixture is too lean. What do you think?