News:

The ORG - 100% FREE advice!

Main Menu

Brake line advice

Started by hamidagha, 12 July 2021, 02:00 PM

hamidagha

Hi all. So I decided to take a look at the brakes on my 1979 280 SE which I have been working on for past 18 months.
The brakes look like they were last done some time ago and the car must have been sat for a long time. Long story short I have sent all calipers to be refurnished but I am having a tough time getting the brake hoses off the brake line. So I think I need to cut the brake line and renew a section. My question: is it ok to let the brake oil drain off or should I avoid the brake cylinder getting drained? My idea is to take the cut off brake lines to a local shop so the can make me new ones.
Thanks 

daantjie

You have to bleed the brakes regardless after any brake work, so letting fluid out the line is no biggie.
Daniel
1977 450 SEL 6.9 - Astralsilber

Alec300SD

No need to cut the brake line.
Spray the union with your favorite penetrant, and let it sit overnight.
On the next day, only use the pair of right sized metric flare wrenches to break the clamping torque of the flare fitting.
Have the wrenches  offset by an angle of about 30 degrees on each side of the fitting, and then squeeze the wrench handles together.

78 W116 300SD 'Desert Rose' new as of 01/26/2014
79 W116 300SD 'Stormcloud' RIP 04/11/2022

hamidagha

Quote from: Alec300SD on 12 July 2021, 02:27 PM
No need to cut the brake line.
Spray the union with your favorite penetrant, and let it sit overnight.
On the next day, only use the pair of right sized metric flare wrenches to break the clamping torque of the flare fitting.
Have the wrenches  offset by an angle of about 30 degrees on each side of the fitting, and then squeeze the wrench handles together.

Hi Alec
I did that and no joy! I mean really solid and actually looking at the lines, I should replace them! Looking at buying my own flaring kit! Hey what could go wrong?

Alec300SD