News:

www.W116.org - By the people, for the people!

Main Menu

6.9 suspension problems - 6.9 newbie here

Started by s class, 05 September 2007, 04:31 PM

s class

OK guys, as it is now known, I'm the proud owner of a mechanically challenged 6.9.  Among other maladies, it has serious suspension issues. 

The front end sags a bit over night, and is allmost comletely down in 48 hours.  When starting from cold, the red suspension warning light takes about 30 seconds to go out. However the front doesn't lift up properly.

The front end feels very soft. I have to creep slowly (like 5km/h) over speed humps. If I try going any faster, after the front wheels get over the bump the front end of the car wallows up and down a couple of times, a bit like driving a conventional car with worn-out shock absorbers.  At driving speed (say 60 km/h) the car takes bumps in its stride - OK still a bit wallowy - its as if at the higher engine speeds, there is more pressure, or perhaps the pump is able to partially overcome pressure lost somewhere due to internal leaking?

The rear end feels a lot harder. When the car is idling, I can't really push down on the rear end at all. I'm guessing the rear spheres are gone, but what else?

There are no external leaks on the system. Does this sound like front struts? spheres? level valves?

I have checked and the left front sphere has a red mark on it, the rears have green marks (too lazy to check right front).  So far so good. 

The left front strut is marked 1163202613 - correct according to the EPC (standard not sport driving)
Rear struts are both 1163203613 - I don't have access to that listing on EPC so I can't confirm it they are correct.

The right front strut HAS NO MARKINGS AT ALL ????#

Both front struts have been seriously graunched by some massive visegrip or some such - see the photos below.  Has someone attempted to refurbish these?

Finally two questions :

a) how does one decide that a strut needs replacing?