News:

www.W116.org - All about the Car!

Main Menu

6.9 suspension problems - 6.9 newbie here

Started by s class, 05 September 2007, 04:31 PM

s class

THanks for all the help guys,

The short version of the story is my new front struts arrive next week from Germany, the new spheres a few days later from Autohaus.

[color=blue]'76 6.9 Euro[/color], [color=red]'78 6.9 AMG[/color], '80 280SE, [color=brown]'74 350SE[/color], [color=black]'82 500SEL euro full hydro, '83 500SEL euro full hydro [/color], '81 500SL

s class

[color=blue]'76 6.9 Euro[/color], [color=red]'78 6.9 AMG[/color], '80 280SE, [color=brown]'74 350SE[/color], [color=black]'82 500SEL euro full hydro, '83 500SEL euro full hydro [/color], '81 500SL

s class

Futher progress - today I removed the suspension pump and stripped it.  I think I know where a lot of the pressure has been going -

THis picture shows the back of the pump.  It had a non-standard seal installed (the black one in the picture)  the other seal is a new MB replacement.  What is tough to see is that the back of the pump had been machined out to about 1mm larger diameter to fit the generic black seal.  This has had 2 consequences :

a) the port which you see at 12 o clock in the seal seat was now blocked off.  What is this port for?

b) the seal was only a loose fit around the shaft.  I could see daylight between them.   :o

So - it must have been leaking into the engine like crazy.  Is that rear seal subjected to the full suspension pressure, or only some 'ambient' pressure in the pump?

Progress... Ryan

CraigS

Is the one you found off the 420 a direct bolt on ? If so, why spend time on this one ?
[url="http://s109.photobucket.com/albums/n77/Aegeanfoods/My%20Cars/"]http://s109.photobucket.com/albums/n77/Aegeanfoods/My%20Cars/[/url]

s class