News:

The Org - Serving W116 Enthusiasts since 2004!

Main Menu

6.9 suspension conversion

Started by john erbe, 27 February 2008, 10:17 AM

john erbe

Purists read no further. However, in the event that someone is out there about to junk or sell his 6.9 too cheap because of endless suspension repairs and doesn't have a fat wallet -STOP! Just completed conversion, total cost about $900 in parts and that's with double adjustable coil overs in front. Had I used standards cost would be around $600. Instalation easy, and I'm just a shade tree mechanic with a floor jack and blocks. Put it this way, if I saw a 6.9 in junk yard with crapped out suspension and had all the parts in hand plus spring compressor for rears, I could drive car out in two hours and never have to worry about suspension again. Hopefully, this will keep more 6.9's on the road. If you want details send me a pm, glad to help.

john erbe

Michael:

I live in Vallejo, California. Yes, I have part numbers for the non-mercedes shocks and springs. Thinking about going one size smaller in front spring but first want upgrade the Bilstein/Mercedes spring set up in rear, see how it looks and then make decision. Will take some photos. Its real easy. Guy that told me about it just said he used coil overs in front, upper mercedes rubberized bracket off hydraulic strut, and had to machine brackets and a spacer. That was all the info I had to go on. Once I removed the upper bracket from from the 6.9's strut and laid it side by side a coil over shock with the "stud" mount on the top (and a few beers) Bingo! it came to me. Not knowing what the size springs, shocks or the rate of the spring, I had to do alot of running around. The machine work was easy. I didnt need a spacer, so his set up is probably a little different. Ironically, and here's the kicker, the front conversion is easier than the back.

john erbe