News:

www.W116.org - By the people, for the people!

Main Menu

280SE Questions

Started by paulbarras, 13 August 2006, 01:23 PM

paulbarras

Hi All,

This is my first post to the w116 forums, even though I've been watching it for some time now. Keep up the great work.

I am a college student in Southern California considering a 280SE for my first car. I have the impression that the 280SE isn't quite as popular as the 450SEL and other V8 variants, at least here in America. I would like to know whether the m110 engine has any weak spots, and what I should be expecting from this car?

The car itself is a Californian native, and is a 1978 model year car. I will be seeing pictures of it sometime soon. Is there anything that I should look out for?

Also, I would like to know how servicing costs are like from the American members of this site, as well as a fair value for the model. The car I am considering has some modifications done to it, but they are mainly in the interior, consisting of a 190E 2.3-16 console with ammeter and voltmeter and a decent in-car entertainment system. Would these modifications subtract substantially from the value of the car? What would be a fair price to offer for a car in good condition?

Thanks in advance.

Denis

Hi paulbarras

Let me start you off : the 280SE has the M110 engine. Early M110 had problems with camshaft bearings and early wear of valve guides. The car you are looking at is likely to have the later engine but make sure that it doesn't emit blue smoke or make real noise at the valves. Also check that the cooling system has coolant in it and NOTHING else such as oil...

Since you don't state the milleage, it is hard to say more except that the USA version of this car took a 40+ hp whallop when its got "smogged" hence the lack of success of that model in the USA. This alone can be a good point for a buyer. The car you are looking at has about 142 SAE hp versus 180 or 190 for a 4.5.