News:

The ORG - 100% FREE advice!

Main Menu

1978 280SE DOHC inline 6cyl - stalls when warm

Started by BenzGmarket, 13 October 2009, 09:06 PM

BenzGmarket

OK, I am new to MB cars.  This 78 280SE is my first. It has the Bosch K-jetronic system in it.  No electronics in the fuel system.  

This is the problem.

The car start right up when cold, so I take assume the cold start valve is working.  The car runs fine until it reaches operating temperature.  When warm it stalls when at a stop light.  And is hard to start when warm.  It also misses bad and runs very rough when warm.  Sounds perfect cold though. I am learning that these are way different from American cars in that you can't just drive the crap out of them and park them until they fall apart.  You have to constantly tinker with them to keep them in tune.

I have Bosch book on the K-jetronic system, and have purchased the hi pressure fuel pressure gauge to do the required diagnostic tests.  But I am going into this blind.  I figure I should start by taking the tank off and replacing the sock filter and pre-pump (if it has one).  Then fuel filter outside the tank and accumulator.  I guess I could just test the fuel pump to make sure it is pumping like it should.  

Again, the car runs fine cold but when it warms up the car stalls at stop lights and is even harder to keep running with the a/c compressor engaged. Just runs horribly when warm.  At the same time I am suspicious of the A/C compressor because it squeaks and squawks even after I replaced the clutch.  So maybe it is dragging down on the motor.  But non the less, with or without the a/c compressor on it runs horribly if at all only when warm.

After replacing the in tank filter and accumulator, what should I check then.  Someone told me that it is most likely my warm up regulator.  Can I adjust this or do I need to get a new one.  I could use any advice on where to start.

Thanks

OzBenzHead