News:

The ORG - No shonky business!

Main Menu

W116 300SD Fog lights with LED retrofit.

Started by Engineerd3d, 03 March 2021, 05:37 PM

Engineerd3d

I was looking at my car after I bought it and something seemed missing. I could not put my finger on it, although I am new to the whole vintage Mercedes thing. Turns out the PO removed the fogs and tied the wires under the chin. A quick google confirmed that yes these cars should have proper fog lights. Some have amber lenses/reflectors other do not. Out came the multimeter and indeed the wires are there and fully functional.

Next came the quick e-bay search, turns out a busted set is worth a couple hundred dollars? Even if they were mint its more than I am willing to spend. The OEM Bosch units are made of 40+ year old plastic and very prone to being broken anyway. I decided to search for a set of square aftermarket lights, turns out that is easier said than done as most of them these days look like an alien designed them, therefore they would look out of place.

The only suitable set I saw were made by blazer and these checked 3 out of 4 boxes.
1 - Affordable
2 - Glass Lens
3 - Vintage looks
4 - Chrome bezel - Missing.