News:

www.W116.org - All about the Car!

Main Menu

Undercoating?

Started by GSK11740, 23 September 2005, 03:44 PM

GSK11740

Hi! I'm new here. I have a '79 300SD I'm restoring and I have run into something I have never worked with before. What is this stuff Mercedes uses for undercoating and how do I get it off? I've read that it's best to remove it since it hides rust but I can't find any info on how to remove it. The undercoating used on american cars just scrapes off. It's messy but not that hard. This stuff seems indestructable! Help?

Mforcer

Hello and welcome to the forum.

Where did you read that it is best to remove the undercoating? I have never heard anything of the sort. The only thing that the undercoating may do is hide rust from view but it will not cause rust. Tackle the cause of the rust first.

Rust can be a problem when water pools inside the car from a leak. The floor carpets have a foam backing which absorbs water and the only way to dry them is leave them in the sun for a couple of weeks. Leaving them in the car while wet will cause rust in the floor of the car.

If you check under the floor carpets for water and signs of rust then you shouldn't need to worry about removing the undercoating.
Michael
1977 450SE [Brilliant Red]
2006 B200

GSK11740

Quote from: "450SE"Hello and welcome to the forum.

Where did you read that it is best to remove the undercoating? I have never heard anything of the sort. The only thing that the undercoating may do is hide rust from view but it will not cause rust. Tackle the cause of the rust first.

Rust can be a problem when water pools inside the car from a leak. The floor carpets have a foam backing which absorbs water and the only way to dry them is leave them in the sun for a couple of weeks. Leaving them in the car while wet will cause rust in the floor of the car.

If you check under the floor carpets for water and signs of rust then you shouldn't need to worry about removing the undercoating.