News:

The ORG - 100% FREE advice!

Main Menu

Rust

Started by skatingandgirlsdontmix, 13 December 2006, 06:46 AM

skatingandgirlsdontmix

folks, i've just recently purchased a 450SEL. 

I purchased it to be solely used on the weekends as a second car and occasionaly during the week.

I noticed the boot had a small bit of rust in the side near the wheel arch.  I also noticed the side panel where the jack goes appears to have been mig welded so I assume rust has been cut out of there before.  There are other areas where rust appears to have been and reapperaing i.e. slight rust bubbles near the sun roof, around the back lights etc. 

My question is how long can I expect to drive the car before its totally consumed by rust.  I am no expert (obviously) and want to get an idea of how long the rust will take to consume the car to the point it is unroadworthy/unsafe?  I know its a "how long is a peice of string question" but any indication would be handy.

AMG69

A long time.  I've seen cars in that shape still driving after 10 years. But eventually they become unsalvageable....dont forget to check under the carpet esp front passenger and driver footwells....nasty suprises under there :o
sigh....sitting back contemplating the next purchase..!

oscar

Hi skater,
Firstly, don't wash your car or only do it during warmer months and wipe it dry then let it finish in the sun.  If you avoid washing the car, use something like Meguiars detailng spray. It's called something like that. I use it as a waterless car wash by spraying an area, wipe with a towel, spray it again and wipe with another clean dry soft towel.  The surface comes up clean and slippery as if just polished.