The ORG - No shonky business!

Main Menu

License Plate Holders for Euro Bumpers

Started by oscar, 10 October 2008, 10:41 AM

koan

Boogity, Boogity, Boogity, Amen!

oscar

How about M5 ::)

Unfortunately, the packet of screws I did use I couldn't find, but the screws are phillips head and about 15mm long and since they are the same pitch as the SS ones below I'm guessing they're M5.

I'm not good at reading codes on screw packets but I assume these are machine thread 5mm and 25mm long (5x25).  I didn't use these ones because I thought they were a bit too long and I preferred a phillips head rather than hex but otherwise they screw in just fine.

1973 350SE, my first & fave

koan

That's it oscar, they are 5mm, found my old mounts today and measured them.

Thought they were much smaller, 4mm or so, you were close 13B

I have some countersunk head 5mm screws with hex (allen) key holes, pretty sure they are s/steel. Happy to post a few out if anyone can use them.

koan

BAR

Bunnings will have a huge range of stainless steel 'bolts' - a screw has a tapered section and will fix into the material due to the increased diameter / depth of thread.  Bolts fix with a nut.

I recommend stainless for obvious reasons.

Get a few packs of M4 and M5 bolts some washers and nuts to suit.  There are many applications for them with your W116.

Being European, all bolts in the car are Metric and standard engineering thread.  M2, M3, M4 etc.  You can also get high tensile nuts and bolts for spares as well.

TJ 450

AFAIK, a set screw, or a machine screw is a "bolt" that has thread all the way to the head. A "bolt" has the upper section of shank smooth, with no thread. ;)

Tim
1976 450SEL 6.9 1432
1969 300SEL 6.3 1394
2003 ML500

koan

Quote from: TJ 450 on 12 January 2009, 11:51 PM

AFAIK, a set screw, or a machine screw is a "bolt" that has thread all the way to the head. A "bolt" has the upper section of shank smooth, with no thread. ;)