News:

The ORG - Truly Independent and Unbiased!

Main Menu

Doors

Started by marku, 17 October 2018, 12:16 PM

marku

What makes the sound of a door closing as I am just about to install the 116s doors after repair and repainting. I know its a bit simplistic but I mean that really nice sound of a quality door, as the 116, closing just like the old railway doors. Its not just the size and weight as I have a modern Mercedes that the passenger door closes with that sound but the driver door closes like a really cheap car. Thought it was the rubber stops but it makes no difference. The doors are the same and have the same insulation but they sound different. Its all ways been like that and as I have stripped out the 116s doors I wondered what sound they are going to make when refitted.

1974 450SE silver green/bamboo velour/green vinyl roof

daantjie

I am no expert, but I think a lot of it is in the latch mechanism.  If you look at one in your hand, you will see it is one seriously beefy and typically over engineered piece of equipment like only ze Germans could have done ;D  Apparently many a pranged 116 had the doors still opening perfectly after the accident, and surely this must be attributed to the superior design of the latch mechanism.
Daniel
1977 450 SEL 6.9 - Astralsilber

marku

I agree with you regarding the 116 but it doesn't apply to our other Mercedes. Both doors have the same fittings and yet sound so different.

ptashek

Quote from: daantjie on 17 October 2018, 01:09 PM
Apparently many a pranged 116 had the doors still opening perfectly after the accident, and surely this must be attributed to the superior design of the latch mechanism.

Actually, the door latches were specifically designed to do just that - open perfectly even in a major frontal collision.
https://youtu.be/Cxhe08IZwhI?t=100
1993 "Pearl Blue" W124 280TE
1988 "Arctic White" W124 200T
1979 "Icon Gold" W116 450SE

Jed