News:

Please add your location to your profile. It will help others to help you!

Main Menu

Door seals

Started by marku, 10 January 2021, 12:54 PM

marku

Been refitting the door seals after the respray. I was not aware what complicated things they are both in section and extension. Who designs them as manufacturing must present considerable problems. Quite the unsung heroes I would have thought.
1974 450SE silver green/bamboo velour/green vinyl roof

mrkozzy

I'm hearing you loud and clear on this one.

I had a full new set for all 4 doors sitting in my garage storage for over 2 years waiting for the day.

I really didn't want to tackle the installation because I realized I'm a novice at that sort of thing.  ??? (and my weekends can be better spent)

Unfortunately, I had reason to get some panel repairs and painting done recently myself. (Some dirt bag hit me!).   :'( :'(

Fortunately I was able to persuade the guys at the panel shop to help.  ;)

As they were finishing off the work, I walked in with some "folding stuff" and a case of beer.   ;D

Voila.  Jobs done.   ;D
MrKozzy

Fergus

Sounds like you got them on - well done.

Any tips for those of us in the 5C class of the 116 school?

marku

A tedious job and time consuming. Easiest with the doors off. Only tool necessary is the usual plastic wedge. Line up the seal and start at a shaped corner. Work round pressing the outer edge into the retainer and then down at the back which forces it under the retainer lip. The only caution is that it is very easy to stretch the seal and end up with too much to fit. Keep checking all round fit.
Reading an old Porsche manual on the subject it recommended regular treatment of seals with petroleum jelly to keep them supple. Rub of excess with soft cloth. Makes them look new.

daantjie