News:

The ORG - 100% FREE advice!

Main Menu

Best CD player for this car?

Started by Andrew280SEL, 15 July 2006, 03:45 AM

Andrew280SEL

Hey guys

I'm looking to put a CD player in my car (280SEL) and I was wondering what ones in particular you would recommend. I want one that would look flush with the console, i.e not some green and yellow flashing techno mini-disco unit thats gonna look out of place.

I guess some of you would have units already installed in your machines that you are happy with, but these cars seem to come with many different styled interiors.
Mine has the wooden finish throughout, even the console (dont think its the real thing of course) Im quite new to some of this so forgive me if i sound a bit stupid.
'79 280SEL- 560,000 Kms
'73 350SE- getting an AMG facelift
'79 450SEL 6.9

AMG69

Andrew, I spent ages on this decision. I ended up with intalling an original Becker Mexico Casette Stereo, a new Alpine AMP (200W), new speakers incl tweeters discreetly located on teh dash (in the corners) and most importantly an iPOD connector which comes up thru the centre console (hidden by the carpet when not in use!).  I own a new 60G video iPOD.  This way I have about 10,000 CD's in my car at all times!!!  Total cost was about $800 Aussie.  Just an alternative to think about!
sigh....sitting back contemplating the next purchase..!

oscar

Hi Andrew,

I'm with ChrisM on this one.  What have you got in there at the moment?  Even though any modern unit will fit into the console, these older Becker units (although no cd) look the part and you can wire up accessories like ipods or disc changers to the Aux in or amp if you're putting one in. 

Everything seems multicoloured LED and disco lights but if you still want a wood grained fascia, there are some out there but I can't remember off hand which brands.  If noone else knows try popping the question here http://www.caraudioaustralia.com/index.php
1973 350SE, my first & fave

Nutz