News:

www.W116.org - By the people, for the people!

Main Menu

Not that I want one, any g class experts out there?

Started by gf, 06 January 2017, 07:03 AM

gf

0-100 performance aside anyone know how the original g classes compare to the latest? They've been making these for nearly 40 years now

Jed

While I am no expert, nor can I speak of the early G classes I do have a 2004 G500 and just took delivery of a 2017 G550...

First and foremost I absolutely love the feeling of comfort and security driving these cars.  I have 150k miles on the 04 and until the transfer case started acting up last month (won't stay in High gear) it drove like a tank (in a good way).  Solid and secure! Even in the worst of Michigan's winter snows storms I have always been comfortable driving my old G. Plenty of power. Very comfortable on 3-4 hr rides which I do all the time. Not luxurious but better than most any domestic (US) vehicle of its vintage but somewhat spartan by Mercedes standards. It has had many small mechanical issues mostly involving window regulators, door handles, a couple minor oil leaks,  and such.  Really nothing major at all until now. I hope to be able to get the transfer case issue sorted and get her back on the road.

As far as the 2017, I really should not offer any opinion yet as I have driven it a total of 67 miles so far....
I will say that the exterior is virtually unchanged.  The wheels are now 19 inch (from 18), it comes with a brush guard as standard, a few LED lights replace the old style bulbs. Virtually unchanged and in my opinion it should not be! I love the iconic late 70's style and I am dreading what will happen in 2 years when the truly NEW G wagon comes out. The looks of this car are either love it or hate it and that is perfectly Ok with me.